Baby, it’s cold outside….

11 Jan

 

I’m not a fan of the cold. The perfect temperature for my house in the winter is somewhere in the 70’s. If I wasn’t so frugal and didn’t have such a large space to heat (and old barns are not all that efficient), I’d just crank up the thermostat.

The first winter after we had Dally, we had a little run of bad luck that resulted in my having a few bottle calves to feed.

Every couple of hours. Day or night. In the cold night. Me bundled up like a small marshmallow man and trudging down the road to the barn with a warm bottle of milk replacer.

And somewhere between the moon reflecting off the white blanket and the stars quietly dotting the sky, I discovered that the most precious thing in the whole world is the peace and quiet of a snowy winter night. It’s even precious enough to make up for baby calf slobber.

After being up all night with a crying baby, it feels really good to volunteer for bottle calf duty. For 20 minutes, it is perfectly calm.

Five years later, I wish I had 20 minutes of bottle calf time. So I slip out in the early morning before the kiddos get up for a few minutes just to breath in the cold winter air and I always go feed the dog after they go to sleep. In my opinion, it’s the only way I stay sane. Not that I don’t love the kiddos. But without the quiet, would I recognize how sweet their endless chatter is?

4 Responses to “Baby, it’s cold outside….”

  1. Ally January 11, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    There’s a peace that comes with a snow covered landscape…

  2. Michelle January 14, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I feel calm just reading that. The country affords even more stillness than the city and that sounds heavenly right now.

  3. bonda84 January 14, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    It is amazing how relaxing and beautiful the winter time can be. My favorite thing is standing outside on a clear night and being able to see my favorite constellation…Orion. It’s always nice to know my hunter is watching over everything up in the sky.

  4. bonda84 April 1, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    You haven’t posted in a long time….hope everything is okay and you’re just caught up in crazy, beautiful life! 🙂 And I read through your stories on how you and the Cowboy met a while back and I absolutely loved them. Sounds like the makings of a great movie to me!!

Leave a Reply

