Don’t let them lie to you, you’ll never sleep again….

10 Jan

 

I have no idea what they are up to all night long, but lately I get up in the mornings and find that all the horses in the front pasture are laying down.

This is weird. It is unusual. I can walk right through the middle of them and they don’t even stir.

Causing me to freak out the first time because I thought they were all dead. But, um…let’s just keep that between us. It doesn’t exactly fit the smart cowgirl image, now does it?

The Cowboy wanted me to take a picture because he doesn’t believe me. He never believes me. Not even when I swear I didn’t side swipe the gate even though there is red paint on my white fender and white paint on the red gate…or the time he says I drove the tractor into the pond and got it stuck and left it there….and he found the key in my coat pocket….or the time I….okay….I kinda get why he doesn’t always think I’m truthful.

 

 

There are five more horses just like that off to the left.

I’m so jealous. Do you know how many years it has been since I’ve had a nap?

 

 

Do you have any idea how long it’s been since I’ve slept through the night? I’m not talking weeks here.

 

 

It’s been years……long years…..filled with lots of caffeine and oreos. There have been nights that I’ve purposefully carried a screaming baby into the bedroom and laid them next to the Cowboy in the bed. After five minutes, I feel bad for the crying baby and pick her up and return to the living room to rock some more. The Cowboy never stops snoring. Between the crying kiddos and the snoring Cowboy I sometimes feel like moving into the horse barn. Because apparently, they live a pretty easy life.

 

 

And this horse has the nerve to lay there all stretched out, nice and comfy and then SMILE at me?

I think it’s fitting that it’s snowing right now. I’m all comfy in my pj’s on the couch in front of a roaring fire. This morning, the kiddos and I ate homemade doughnuts.

It makes it a bit better.

 

 

But who am I kidding? I really would like a nap.

5 Responses to “Don’t let them lie to you, you’ll never sleep again….”

  1. prairie mother January 10, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Funny! How is it that mothers can here the teeniest little noise and jolt up out of a dead sleep but fathers wouldn’t hear a train go through their bedroom? I’m with you on a nap…glad you had homemade donuts…hope you get that nap!

    I don’t know anything about horses, but that seems weird to me too!

  2. Jen January 10, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    ok, so what were the horses doing? I like the smiling one!

  3. Ally January 10, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    That’s funny! They weren’t just laying down (like the second picture) but seriously LAYING DOWN! Those are some comfortable horses! I always thought it was a rare day when I saw my horse doing that (back when I had a horse, that is!) Now, homemade donuts? Yum!

  4. Kelli Northcutt January 10, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    The smiling horse totally cracked me up! I know nothing about horses, but it does seem strange. If you ever figure it out I’d love to know why they do that 🙂

  5. bonda84 January 11, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Seeing them all laying down like that would freak me out too, and I’ve been around horses quite a bit throughout my life as well. Wonder what they are up to?

Leave a Reply

