Baring it all…

30 Oct

In the spirit of Halloween, I decided to scare the peanut butter out of all of you by posting a pic of me with no makeup on. It’s a trend that’s been going around the blog world for a while and since I am frequently spotted around town without makeup…. Occasionally with my hair in a ponytail. And twice last winter in a ski cap and carhartt bibs.

I figure that as long as I am toting kiddos behind me, I have an excuse. The cowboy, who used to love me without makeup and in a t-shirt and jeans, now asks me to please go put some makeup on. And some heels. Unless we’re going to work cattle. Then he just yells at me to hurry it up.

99 percent of the time, my family is the reason I don’t have makeup on.

Once, I got all the way through all my errands before someone pulled me to the side and let me know that I had apparently forgotten to put eyeshadow and mascara on my left eye. That moment came to me courtesy of my darling Dally squirting tinted moisturizer all over herself.

Sometimes it’s better to wear no makeup at all than half a face of makeup.

It floats around the blogging world occasionally for us to post pictures of ourselves minus the makeup. Since that is the way I am all the time, I figured I’d be brave enough to do it.

But once you become a mom, it’s easy to forget to look at yourself anymore. I honestly look at myself once in the morning and most days — that’s it. If I had a dollar for every time I realized I had a kiddo hairbow, spaghetti sauce or sucker stuck in my hair and didn’t even know it….well, I’d hire someone to tell me when I have stuff in my hair!

So, Dally took pictures of me minus the makeup and after spending 2 hours out in the wind. I’d like to say I’m not too happy about all the little wrinkles on my face, but they are all from laughing. I wouldn’t take a single one away.

I say that now, but I guarantee by 9 pm I’ll have my face slathered with anti-aging creams!

So, with a deep breath, here I am. In black and white. Without makeup.

Hope I don’t scare you too badly!

4 Responses to “Baring it all…”

  1. Ally October 30, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    Seriously? You look fantastic! Without makeup (and I don’t wear much), I have dark circles under my eyes (hereditary, not lack of sleep, though sometimes lack of sleep is there, too), uneven skin tone and invisible eyelashes!

  2. Prairie Mother November 2, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Brave lady! The most I ever put on makeup is Sunday morning for church, ha! You look great. Might have to work up the courage to do this one myself sometime…..maybe…

  3. Renee Seaton November 4, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Lily, You are absolutely gorgeous and always have been. I just love reading what it is you have to say.

  4. Charlotte November 9, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    OMG, are you kidding?!? You look GORGEOUS!! You have such beautiful eyes 🙂

Leave a Reply

