I’ve gone Shutterfly crazy…. And a Photo Card Giveaway!

6 Oct

Not dealing well with my little baby growing up so fast. She’s gotten to the age that she’s happiest outside with her horses. The other day, I caught her climbing on top of the fence to get on Caddy bareback and go for a ride by herself. I ran out yelling and waving my arms at her. Freaking-out-Mommy overruled the common sense rule of never running and yelling at horses or kiddos that you don’t want to run away from you.

I’ve been working on a project for my various family members for Christmas. I am using Shutterfly to create photo books to give to the Grandma’s and such. They show the girls throughout the year. I figured this is a good way to give all the pictures at once, since I take millions of pictures, but never, ever give them out.

I’m like a picture hoarder. I can’t help it. I just never give them away.

Half-way through creating “Our Year at Cocklebur Junction” book, I decided that Dally is growing up way too fast.

Last week, I asked her if she was still my little Dally Duck.

“No, Mom. I’m a woman.”

Well, then. Okay.

So I decided to create a second photo book as well. One that commemorates Dally’s first five years of life. I know, it does seem a bit insane, but she’s mine and Shutterfly books are so much easier to create than a scrapbook at this point in my life! I mean, no one is stealing any markers to draw on the leather couch, there aren’t those little squares of tape stuck all over my backside and I’m not yelling at the kiddos to stop making paper airplanes out of my fancy paper.

It takes me longer to edit pictures in Photoshop than it does to create the book! I adore the fact that I can design each single page the exact way I want it, right down to the text. Ah, the control freak in me is loving this…

And even though I told myself I would never, ever send out those picture cards to my friends and loved ones at Christmas time….well….I’m going to this year. These Christmas photo cards are just adorable. So sometime in the near future, the kiddos and I will set off to take some pics around the ranch for a one-of-a-kind card. I’ll need to borrow an alpaca, an emu, a camel and a sheep. I’m thinking they’d make a cute group wearing Christmas wreaths. Maybe I can get the alpaca to wear a sweater! Oh, I promise to share the adventure with ya. I have a feeling it’s going to get interesting!

Then, don’t be surprised if you start getting thank you cards featuring Cocklebur Junction activities!

I’ve just become one of those moms. I’ve resisted it, but it’s happening. I might even write a Christmas newsletter from the viewpoint of one of our horses. He can tell you how many times he’s seen me trip over the same water hose this summer. Or about how I freak out on a regular basis. How the horses are now so used to my freak outs that they don’t even bat an eye when I jump up and down and wave my arms like a mad woman. To them, it is the norm around here.

Wanna join me? In the picture cards, not the jumping up and down. Well, you can jump if you want to. I mean it is exciting….

Shutterfly has graciously given me some photo card packages to give away. You can join me and we’ll all wear goofy snowflake Christmas sweaters and make our loved one’s drink eggnog out of moose-shaped glasses. I am keeping one set and giving the rest to three lucky winners (just so you know. However, that hasn’t affected my love of Shutterfly at all…promise.)

What you are getting:

A code for 10 free 5×7 flat stationery cards! You have to use them by December 31 of this year. So they are perfect for Thanksgiving cards, Christmas cards or New Year’s Cards. You could even use them thank you cards or birthday party invites. Whatever you want!

How you win them:

Leave a nice, friendly comment on any of my blog posts during the next week. As in before the end of Wednesday, October 13. I’ll be reminding you to comment. So just comment.

Every post you comment on enters you again. I will give each comment a number according to the order received. We will then draw three numbers from the hat and those people will win the photo cards. You can only win one set of photo cards, but you can increase your odds of winning by commenting.

Now I’m off to find those Christmas wreaths. And an alpaca. Can we just keep the alpaca between us? What the Cowboy doesn’t know won’t hurt me.

7 Responses to “I’ve gone Shutterfly crazy…. And a Photo Card Giveaway!”

  1. Angie Neff October 6, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    I love pictures to but I never seem to have the time to do it myself so I let someone else do it for me. This is a great idea though for gifts!

  2. Jen October 6, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    You are such a good writer, Lily! I would love to win some free cards!

  3. tracy y October 6, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    oh my great idea wish i was creative like you

  4. Samantha October 6, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Thanks for adding the smiling horse. It has been a crazy week at work and I needed that! LOL

    How do you have the energy to do everything you do? I just have 2 children (Eric-31 & Hannah-16 mths) and 5 dogs and I still can’t seem to get much accomplished. LOL

  5. adventuresinwomanland October 6, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Hi, Lily!
    So glad you introduced yourself to me! I’ll have to add you to my daily blog check-ins!

    Best,
    AinW
    http://www.adventuresinwomanland.com

  6. kelli olechnowicz October 6, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Awesome blog Lily! Awesome opportunity with Shutterfly also. I would love to win some pics, since I take like three gazillion of them 🙂

  7. Ally October 6, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Okay, I admit it. I’m one of those moms, too. I used to do hand colored black and whites (did you see me say HAND colored), copied, and hand pasted (there’s that word HAND again) on each individual card, with a HAND written message. Um yeah, now I do the Shutterfly picture cards. And I love the picture albums of my son for the year for Christmas gifts for the grandparents.

    I do wish my pictures were as awesome as yours!

Leave a Reply

