Pollination

22 Apr

We take picnics down to the shop almost every day when the cowboy is home…The kiddos enjoy the walk, I get to see what the cowboy does all day and he gets a sandwhich….it all works out.

The horses love to gather around and get scratched and then usually hang out muching on grass in front of the horse barn. It’s nice to watch them while we eat and talk about our morning.

Um, until today.

Billy Bob started it. He’s young. He’s named Billy Bob because he’s a bit, well…Billy Bobish in attitude and appearance. I’d even say he borders on being a close cousin to “Bubba”…..

He started snorting a bit….He’d curl his upper lip and snort….That’s how the boys like to look attractive for the girls.

Ah, Billy Bob, you don’t have the equipment to do the job….you’re a gelding.

Then, in the middle of the horses, Tank starts it. Tank is built like a tank. He’s big, strong and a really nice horse. AND a gelding….

I guess he didn’t get the memo.

Me: Um, Cowboy? Geldings don’t actually, um, try to….you know….

C: Nope.

Me: Um….Um….Um…

C: F-word…..Stop that…Stop that right now…(Running and waving his arms.)

Dally:  Mommy, why did Tank get on top of that horse? What was he doing?

And a bunch of other questions that are a bit too detailed for a lady to mention.

So we had a long walk back to the house filled with explanations. Thank goodness we watched a video yesterday on plant reproduction. Dally has been fascinated with the insides of tulips and the pollen and all. So we learned all about it yesterday….

By the time we made it to the house, she looked up at me with her big blue eyes and said.

“I get it Mom. They were just pollinating.”

She’s promised to keep it a secret, but I have on good authority that she explained to several kids where babies come out of mommies. (She figured this out “There’s only one place where things come out of people. I’m right, aren’t I?”

Heaven help me.

3 Responses to “Pollination”

  1. Ally April 22, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Oh I got the greatest giggle out of this! Only one place where things come out of people… that’s one smart little cookie you have there! 🙂

  2. Jen April 24, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    Ok, your girls (esp. Dally) are absolutely hilarious. At least they keep you laughing 😉

  3. Renee Seaton November 4, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    I am laughing hysterically at the moment. So much so I can barely type without errors…… But, as the mother of four you can just imagine the kinds of talks my children and I have had. The answers I have given them have sometimes gotten me into lots of trouble with my own mother who thinks a person should lie to a child until they are a certain age. I don’t think after reading this I will ever again think of (a three letter word) without referrring to it as “pollenating.” FABULOUS!! Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

