Closing the gates….

3 Feb

We have a large pipe entranceway at the end of our driveway….it serves many practical purposes.

Mainly that I tell new visitors to Cocklebur Junction to turn in at the large white pipe entranceway. We’ve never put our name on it, and now as we have lived here for a few years, we doubt we ever will.

1) Everyone already knows who lives here…gossips spreads fast even in the country.

2) We like being anonymous to those who don’t belong here.

It makes me think of this quote:

“I have made my world and it is a much better world than I ever saw outside.” — Louise Nevelson

That’s how I feel about our little world we’ve made here. It’s our safe place to hide away. The kids can play safely in the wide open spaces. I can go for days without answering the phone or seeing anyone outside of my family. We can bury ourselves in the garden or the dusty mane of a loving horse.

And that’s how I feel about the blog world too. We’ve made our own world here…one where every mom is accepted and understood. Where we can be as down or as upbeat as we want to be. Where we can celebrate with each other the little moments that probably only matter to mom’s — like getting to sleep in or being able to serve spaghetti to the fam without having to hose everyone off afterwards! Those little things that make us feel like we have a large pipe entranceway. We can say “come on in” or we can close the gates for a while and have a little quiet.

My neighbors and friends will tell you that sometimes the gates are closed at Cockelbur Junction. I don’t mind if they come on in….but most understand that it means that we are having alone time. Time to restore the balance to our lives.

I know it sounds a little frou-frou, but balance is important. Just as our kiddos need a rhythm to their lives of meals, play and rest to balance their little bodies and minds — so do we parents. Sometimes I simply need to say no. No to running around all the time trying to get us hear and there on endless adventures. No to worrying about getting my house cleaned so that anyone can pop in anytime. No to going out of my way to serve three outstanding meals a day.

I’m tired. I’m worn out today…and the day hasn’t really even gotten into full swing yet. All night long, I was up taking cold medicine.

So the gates are definitely closed today…the kiddos have eaten, have clean faces and hands and are dressed. But I plan on staying in my pj’s for the rest of the morning, curled up on the couch….just being quiet.

The dishes can wait. The laundry can wait. And the chaos will just have to go on around me.

Tomorrow, I’ll open those gates again. But as for today….I’m going to enjoy the blessings of my world.

10 Responses to “Closing the gates….”

  1. Renee February 3, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I love those days of locking myself down into my own little world. Sometimes we need to let the rest of the world go by – and a day in PJ’s is good for the soul. I hope you feel better! Renee

  2. Blond Duck February 3, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Popped in from SITS to say hi! I need to take things moment by moment more…

  3. Ally February 4, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Closing the gates and letting everything wait is one of the hardest things in the world for me. Necessary. Rewarding. Heavenly. But hard. Kudos to you.

  4. mrsbear0309 February 4, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    I find that more and more I appreciate my alone time. I have friends and neighbors that I’ve had to stop on occasion, to explain that I don’t do the unannounced visits. Sometimes I just want to be home with my kids and not worry about entertaining or focusing my attention elsewhere.

    And if I’m feeling under the weather then that goes double.

    Feel better. Enjoy your PJ day.

  5. Janet February 6, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Stopping by from SITS. I’m fighting a cold today myself, so I understand where you’re coming from. Hope your family is all feeling better soon!

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!

  6. Kat @ TodaysCliche.com February 8, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    Just loved this post… coming from SITS. Random, but are you going to Bloggy Boot Camp in Baltimore?

    • lilyteague February 8, 2010 at 8:07 am #

      I would love to go, but the cowboy is on call. Which means he has 24 hours to get to a job if they call him….and believe me, it takes a lot to get that man packed up and out of here. And I just don’t think I could leave the kiddos yet. I’m a little attached.

  7. Blond Duck February 8, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I hope you had a balanced weekend!

  8. Natalie at Mommy on Fire February 10, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    You are correct – sometimes you just need to stop the world for a bit.

    I gave you an award today – stop by when you get the chance!

  9. Margaret (Nanny Goats) February 10, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I’m wondering what exactly is a large pipe entranceway. How cool that you can use it as a landmark. And Cocklebur Junction? How Mayberry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

