I knew it would happen someday, but am still shocked….

31 Jan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wow. I knew this day would come someday. But I sure didn’t expect it to come so very soon.

I mean….the kiddos are ONLY four and two. I thought we were ten years out from this day.

 

But this morning, when I got up…..

They were dressed. Sitting at the kitchen table. Eating breakfast……

 

 

And watching a cartoon on tv.

All…by….themselves.

I started to ask Dally if Daddy had gotten up to help them…..but Bailey looked at me, put her little finger over her mouth and said “SHHHHHH, Mommy sleeping.”

 

I was so shocked by this that I had to sneak back to our bedroom, wake the cowboy up and tell him.

His take on the whole thing: Um, babe….they’ve probably really messed something up and you just haven’t seen it yet.

Thanks. Nice. Now I’m paranoid. I double checked the inside of my snow boot before I put it on….it’s a favorite place for mashed bananas to hide.

But for now, I’m going to assume they just really want to go sledding again!

As soon as the cowboy wakes up, he’s going to have to install that buzzer gadget on their door. I mean, he could be right about the mess I just haven’t found yet. I’m not taking any more chances.

After all, getting to sleep in one morning every decade is enough….right?

Hello?

18 Responses to “I knew it would happen someday, but am still shocked….”

  1. Shell January 31, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    My boys act like little ninjas, trying to get upstairs without me noticing. They want me to keep sleeping, so they can do things like have ice cream for breakfast(this morning).

    The extra sleep is worth it.

    Stopping in from SITS.

  2. itsybitsyknitsy January 31, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Wow… thats a lot of snow!!! I don’t have kids – but I’m sure its very exciting to sleep in lol
    Stopping by from sits!

  3. Renee January 31, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    That is SO cute! I love your pictures – what a beautiful sight. Enjoy your Sunday 🙂

  4. Ally January 31, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    Wow those pictures look COLD! Brrrrr!
    That’s cute that they got up themselves. I remember what a luxury it was when my son was old enough to get up and get himself cereal….

  5. JDaniel4's Mom January 31, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    I would check for crayon on the walls somewhere too. Stopping by from SITS!

  6. Helene January 31, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Oh yeah, I could totally see my kids doing the same thing and I’d be running around here trying to figure out what mess they were trying to hide from me. I mean, they’re usually not helpful or nice without having a reason. Kids will be kids!!

  7. Mommie Daze January 31, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I bet it was the sledding. Kids can be motivated when they want to be. My son usually puts up a fight about getting dressed. But he got some new Spiderman tennis shoes a couple days ago, and the last two days he wanted to get dressed so he can put his new shoes on. Hey, whatever works!

  8. Carrie February 1, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    So funny! I have a toddler and a baby on the way. You mean that I *might* get to sleep in before they are 14?

    Stopping by from SITS!

  9. Crystal February 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Haha, that is so funny!!! I just loved your last line about getting to sleep in once every decade. So true!
    Thank you for visiting my blog and for your fun comment. I’m going to follow your blog now, so I’ll be back 🙂

  10. Crystal February 1, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    hmmm, can’t figure out how to follow you? I clicked on the rss feed, but it didn’t work.

    • lilyteague February 1, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

      I don’t know….I just subscribed to it. I’m not the most technically savvy girl…you know how it is….the kids have used up all of my brain power for the day….I will investigate further though.

  11. Natalie at Mommy on Fire February 1, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Oh my. I have one that is about to be five, one that is 2.5 and one that is 18 months. This. Is. My. Dream.

    What a lucky lady you are. I wouldn’t even know what to do with myself!

    So glad to have “met” you via SITS – love your blog!

  12. Lacie E February 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    mine is five and I think I should see what he would do if i slept in and left it up to him….could be very entertaining 🙂

  13. Mayya @ Sew Chic and Unique February 2, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    Wow i cant wait for my girls to reach that stage, as soon as they are awake its ” Mummyy..Mummyyyyyyy….” so defintely wont be sleeping in for quite a while..

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  14. Laura February 2, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    Hahaha, how cute. I think I would be paranoid too; it’s great when the kids are well behaved…but there is such thing as being TOO well behaved.

  15. bluecottonmemory February 2, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    How incredibly sweet! Moments like that! You’ve stepped into a new world – there’s no going back now:)

  16. betty manousos February 2, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I loved this post and the pictures .
    So sweet morning moments!
    Came over from SITS.
    Have a great day!

  17. Double Dipped Life February 2, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I’m not home in the mornings during the week, but on the weekends, the kids are up before me. They help themselves to breakfast and T.v. I worry about messes… but I like sleeping in more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

