Shoving my face in the snow!!!

30 Jan

For the second time this winter, Cocklebur Junction is covered with snow!

  

I’m not a real big get out in the snow and play sort of girl…

But the girls were just soooo excited about the snow and going sledding, I couldn’t resist in rounding up a couple of laundry baskets and heading for the pond dam.

We’ve, um….never done this before….so I slipped by the barn first and asked the cowboy if he’d like to join us!!!!

The first thing we discovered is that Bailey really dislikes snow. This shouldn’t be a big surprise, as she pretty much dislikes everything….except crying.

She really hated being in the snow and cried the entire time.

But Dally was having a blast. Up the hill Daddy carried her…

And she was thrilled by the ride back down!

She laughed and screamed so much, that I had to join in too. Has anyone ever told you how hard it is to go uphill in the snow dragging a four year old with you? Well, I’m telling you now….do it a few times a week and you’ll be ready to grace the cover of Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition…

I’ll give them your name and number, I’m tired of them calling me all of the time.

So, up the hill we went. The cowboy took a great picture of us, right before I kissed the snow….

So then the Cowboy talks the girls and I into making these awsome snow angels. I was a little skeptical at first….

Me: how do I get down on the ground?

C: Fall backwards, duh.

Me: is it going to hurt?

C just shruggs.

Me: you told me hurling myself at the ground trying out the kiddos’ slip and slide wouldn’t hurt….and it really hurt.

C just shruggs.

So, I took a deep breathe and back  I fell.

And while the girls and I were having a sweet moment making these precious snow angels, what was the Cowboy doing?

Preparing to attack! And let’s just say…It must be a guy thing. Dally and I never got him a single time, but he never missed us.

And his snowballs hurt. Mine kept falling apart.

Then, this happened….

I know it’s hard to tell, but take my word. That is my face print in the snow….the cowboy tackled me to the ground and carefully shoved my face into the snow.

Did I say carefully? He was careful enough that the snow didn’t pack.

But I inhaled through my nose.

Please, if you find yourself with your face in the snow…don’t inhale.

It hurts. It burns. It just isn’t right.

But getting your face shoved in the snow is a small price to pay for the fun we had!

I hope the snow stays around one more day! I’ve already made a bucket of snowballs for tomorrow.

5 Responses to “Shoving my face in the snow!!!”

  1. draaiorgelfan January 30, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    OoohBoyy, what fun! Your photos certainly bring back memories of my childhood years when cold weather and snow were something to be enjoyed rather than just tolerated.

    I live on a street where both the street AND the yard are hilly enough for sledding, but today’s kids don’t do much sledding. The street’s so dirty with sand/salt, and the kids prefer video games. Bring back the Good Ol’ Days!

    Thanks from Ralph, http://draaiorgelfan.wordpress.com, “Wanted – The Dean Martin Show!”.

  2. Renee January 30, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Oh what a nice day it looks like you all had – I love the idea of using laundry baskets for sleds 🙂 Have fun!

  3. Ally January 30, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Oooh I wish we would get some snow around here. Nothing like a good play-in-the-snow day! Fun times!
    A face print – now that’s funny – and I will try to remember not to inhale next time I find myself face down in the snow!

  4. Shelle January 30, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    Oh what fun! I love your pictures, it looks like everyone was having a blast! What a great idea to use a laundry basket!!

    Happy SITS Saturday!

  5. Tonya January 30, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    We don’t get a lot of snow where we currently are, but back in our home state of Ohio we were quite accustomed to it. The last time we played in the snow, we went sledding. My husband and I on one sled, flying down the side of a reservoir on not just snow, but ice. Our sled flew so fast and we ended up at the bottom of the hill, breaking the ice and lying flat in a mud puddle! My husband’s reflexes are a bit faster than mine because he was up and half way up the hill before I even realized what had happened! I was lying in the water snorting and laughing so hard I couldn’t get up! I was super cold though and the walk back to the vehicle with the wind blowing in my face. Snow days, are good days!:)

Leave a Reply

