When you want that minty fresh feeling…..

6 Jan

Maybe it’s because the kiddos are tired of being stuck in the house. When it dips below freezing, I don’t let them play outside….okay, call me a good mom if you must.

But since Christmas, it has looked like this outside:

Maybe the kiddos have gone snow crazy. That’s the only way I can explain the massive trouble they’ve been getting into over the past few days.

First, Dally hid all the yogurt in her room so that she could have a snack whenever she wanted. Then, she got a step ladder and got on top of the icebox and stole my oreos. And licked them clean, leaving piles of cookies hidden under her bed. Then she dumped two cups full of sugar in her floor so that she could have snow inside the house.

Oh, yeah. She hasn’t watched tv since.

Last Saturday, I had to move firewood onto the front porch. I would carry a load or two, then peak in the front window and check on the girls. Well, I got busy talking to a neighbor and about four minutes passed by before I checked on the little monsters again.

Somehow. Somewhere. Certainly never where I’ve looked when I’ve needed it…they found the one Sharpie marker we own.

And went to town with it.

She only has a few whiskers on both sides of her face. Unlike her sister….

Who, with help from big sis, became a full blown kitty cat. Oh, and check out the earrings she’s rocking too. All compliments of that one Sharpie marker.

Yeah, I freaked out. Where is the marker? Bring me the marker, right now! RIGHT NOW!

But, even I have to admit. It’s kinda cute.

So I did a search to find out what gets Sharpie marker off little baby skin. You would be surprised what some people suggest. Um, anything that I keep locked up was automatically outruled.

Baby oil. Well, that could work. And we didn’t have any.

So I just washed as much off as I could and we went to wally world the next morning to buy baby oil.

That evening, well, I got busy re-organizing the homeschool cabinet. And don’t you know, Bailey and Dally took it in their own hands to remove that Sharpie from Bailey’s precious little face. I walked around the loveseat in the living room to find a very….

well….

minty….

little girl.

Yep. That’s Crest extra-whitening right there. And she was covered in it. Extra-minty I’d say.

It took the rest of the sharpie off. But I wouldn’t recommend using it. It also irritated her skin. She probably won’t go anywhere near toothpaste again for a while. At least not the mint flavored.

And it still hasn’t ended. This morning, she ate a Burt’s Bees lip balm. Yeah. She’s still a bit minty fresh.

I can’t wait til spring.

2 Responses to “When you want that minty fresh feeling…..”

  1. Angela January 20, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    I am so glad to know that someone else has as much fun as I do In a day! I enjoy reading what you write! have a great day!

  2. rae January 21, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Future reference, plain rubbing alcohol takes sharpie off of anything. And it won’t irritate the skin too badly, no more than a stiff scrub with hand soap. Life is never dull with kids!

Leave a Reply

