Never too late for Christmas cookies!

3 Jan

Because of being stuck in a snowstorm and missing Christmas morning at home as a family, I guess things have just felt a little off. So yesterday, we went ahead and made our Christmas cookies!

We were either a little late, or really early. Hey, with a cookie, it doesn’t matter.

So I mixed up a yummy sugar cookie dough that simply rocked our world. It was by far the best sugar cookie I’ve ever made. The cookies were easy to move and held their shape extremely well. The original recipe was from Taste of Home magazine, but I (as always) changed things as I went along.

Here’s my recipe:

Cocklebur Junction Sugar Cookies

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. coconut extract (opt., but soooo good)
  • 2 1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda

In a large bowl, cream your butter, cream cheese and sugar with a mixer until light and fluffy. Add the egg yolks, vanilla and coconut extract and mix well. In another bowl, mix together your flour, salt and baking soda. Get it mixed up well. A whisk is great for this. Then gradually add it into the creamed mixture and mix well.

It will be crumbly. I laid out a piece of plastic wrap (or you can use waxed paper) and I poured my dough in the middle, wrapped it up and squished it together a bit. Then I put it in the fridge. Chill it for at least three hours. I left mine in overnight.

Now, here’s my tip for a mess free dough rolling experience. I put out a large sheet of waxed paper or plastic wrap. I broke off a chunk of my cookie dough. It was really cold and hard, so I had to let it warm up just a little bit. At least until I could kinda push a finger into it a bit. Then I put a piece of plastic wrap on top and I roll it out to the desired thickness. Peel off the top piece of plastic wrap and you have perfectly smooth cookies without using extra flour on them.

I rolled this dough to about 1/4 inch thick. Then I cut my cookies and put them on a ungreased cookie sheet with about 1 inch in between them. Bake at 375 for 8 to 10 minutes or until edges begin to brown. Let cool a few minutes then move to a wire rack to cool.

Now I liked them fine without any icing, but let me tell you that a little buttercream frosting on top of these really made them decadent (and probably doubled the calorie content).

Because things are crazy busy around here, we used frosting from a can. I piped it onto some of the cookies using a star tip and then some of the cookies just got a quick swipe of frosting with a butter knife.

Then it was the girls turn to work on them a bit.

I was shocked at how well behaved the girls were during the decorating part. There were no arguments. No cookies eaten on the sly. No temper tantrums or big messes. I don’t know what got into them. But I am tempted to make Christmas cookies more often.

I’m not quite sure how the icing got on her face, but Bailey was all about the decorating. And I thought she’d be more interested in eating!

All in all, the cookies turned out great. When we were finished, the girls worked out a system that was rather…um, gross. Dally would lick the icing off and then Bailey would eat the cookie. What can you do? Ewww.

Leave a Reply

