The reason you leave your faucet running in cold weather

11 Dec

Not very long after moving into the barn to live, we had a very hard learned lesson.

When the weather dips below freezing, leave your faucet dripping.

Because if you don’t, you’ll get a call. While you are ten hours away from home, you will get a call from a neighbor to tell you that water is pouring out the back of your house. And that this had happened to the previous owners. Twice. He knew where the shut off was.

Um, not good.

When that happened to us, we cut our vacation short and hurried home. Well, I made that ten hour trip in nine hours and fifty minutes.

And this is what I found.

Yes, that’s water. Or what is left after two days of draining out the back of our house.

There was even more hideous pictures to choose from, but no one needs to see pictures of mold.

So we called one of those Water and Fire restoration places. Because no other contractor was willing to even come near our house after hearing the words “severe water damage”.

They came out. Put blowers in. Pulled the ugly wood paneling off the walls, displaying soaked sheet rock. Leading me to ask, who would put ugly paneling over sheet rock? Why not just drywall it and have normal walls?

The plumbers came out and fixed the busted pipes. They turned the water on. The next day, we got out to the place to feed cattle and found water pouring out of the back of our house again.

And I said words that aren’t appropriate. The cowboy said we could just set it on fire if it wasn’t filled with water. I said a few more words. Then cried.

We moved into a condo in Ponca City. But having to drive back and forth every day was getting old. So we then moved into the living quarters of our horse trailer, which was nicely parked by the barn.

The contractor promised two weeks. Two weeks to give me a new bathroom, closet, two bedrooms and hallway.

First, they destroyed my house even further. Necessary to get rid of the mold that was already spreading like crazy. Eww. Ohhh. I can’t think about it. Even now.

And then they proceeded to only show up once or twice a week. They didn’t order the things that were on the spec sheet. They did things wrong. They did everything wrong.

And six months later, I moved out of the horse trailer and back into our house.

I was pleased with the design choices I made.

A bathroom fit for a cowboy.

No more paneling!!!!

Three months later, the house caught fire. Yep, it did. More inappropriate words. I’ll fill you in on that story later.

3 Responses to “The reason you leave your faucet running in cold weather”

  1. Teresa @ ♥ Too Many Heartbeats ♥ December 11, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    Oh, my! I’m SO sorry. I hope everyone is ok and that there wasn’t too much damage. That is just terrible. I will definitely be back to see what happened.

    I’m stopping by from SITS! I wanted to share a bit of comment l♥ve.

    I hope through it all you have a wonderful Christmas.

    Teresa <

    http://toomanyheartbeats.blogspot.com

  2. TornadoTwos December 12, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Oh no! How awful! You seem to have a sense of humor about the ironicness of it all, what else can you do, right?

    Happy Sits Saturday Sharefest!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The answer to all that you are searching for is….. « The Surprise Lily - January 2, 2010

    […] I may not have balls, but I have first hand knowledge on this subject. You see, our first home had no exposed pipes. It had no pipes on exterior walls. So […]

Leave a Reply

