Fluffy biscuits on a cold winter morning

8 Dec

I many not be able to make gravy, but I can make biscuits.

But if you ask the cowboy, he will tell you that I’ve made millions of biscuits that taste great, but look like cookies.

You see, I have to try every single recipe known to mankind before I settle on a recipe I like. And frankly, some of those recipes out there really aren’t all that great. The year I decided to learn to make the perfect cookies was a big hit around here.

The perfect salsa….well, we spent a lot on antacids that summer.

But nothing is better on a cold, dreary morning than hot fluffy biscuits and some homemade peach butter.

So, here is my favorite, can’t-go-wrong, biscuit recipe.

Cocklebur Junction Angel Biscuits

  • 1 package dry yeast (or 2 1/4 tsp. bulk yeast)
  • 5-6 c. flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp soda
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 c. buttermilk
  • 2 Tbsp warm water
  • 1 c. shortening

Simply dissolve the yeast in the warm water. Put all the dry ingredients in a large bowl (I start with five cups of flour) and swirl them around with a whisk. Cut in the shortening until you have small crumbs. Add the buttermilk and yeast to the flour mix. Knead a few times til it comes together. If you need more flour, this is where you add it in.

Pat out on a floured surface. If you like really tall biscuits, don’t flatten it out too much. I usually pat it down to about 1 inch. I never use a rolling pin on my biscuits because I have the idea that I need to be gently with them. Then either cut into squares with a sharp knife or use a round biscuit cutter. You can even use an empty tin can in a pinch (um, flour it first). I brush them with a little melted butter sometimes, but it isn’t necessary. Put the biscuits in a greased pan and bake at 400 degrees until brown on top. That usually takes about 15-20 minutes. But don’t quote me on that. I’ve never timed them. Yours may be thicker or thinner than mine…. Um, if you see smoke, you’ve waited too long.

Or just skip all the rolling and shape a few with your hands to make drop biscuits.

This recipe will make two 9X13 pans of biscuits. Now that’s too much four our little family to eat. So here’s the best part of this recipe….you can take the dough, put it in a baggy, stick it in the fridge and use it as you need it during the week. Ahhh, so quick and simple on a crazy morning.

And our mornings are crazy…so I make it up the night before and pull it out in the morning. By the time I get done with morning chores, hot and fluffy biscuits are waiting for cold, homemade peach butter. I’ve already mixed it all up for tomorrow morning.

And I never have to even buy buttermilk for the recipe. Because I’ve discovered powdered buttermilk. It lives in the cooking aisle at the grocery store and comes to live in my icebox. Simply stir in the powdered buttermilk (1/4 c. powder per cup called for in recipe — 1/2 c. powder for this recipe) in with your dry ingredients. Then add two cups of water when you should add the buttermilk. This eliminates the how-in-the-heck am I going to use the rest of this buttermilk question.

I’m not a morning person, but when I am eating these and looking out the window at a beautiful winter day, it all seems a little bit more manageable. That’s a little crazy. But I do love good food….

And a beautiful new day to start all over again.

3 Responses to “Fluffy biscuits on a cold winter morning”

  1. Samantha December 8, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    Thanks for the biscuit receipe. I hate to admit this, but Eric makes better biscuits than I do. His are always perfect. It just makes me sick. Of course, it dosen’t help when he says “oh those are so pretty” I just want to chunk them at him. Then again not being able to make them is a good excuse for him to cook breakfast. 😉

  2. victoria December 8, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    I would love to know how to make peach butter.

    • lilyteague December 8, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

      Oh, its not too hard. It just takes a chunk of your afternoon. I’ll put it on here tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

