The Pioneer Woman Cooks, and so can you….

3 Dec

Because I’m giving away a free signed copy of Ree Drummond’s cookbook. It’s full of yummy recipes and beautiful pictures of ranch life.

But I’m going to make you work for it just a little bit.

You see, I’ve already had quite a day. This morning, my truck wouldn’t start. I had drained the battery down trying to jump start a welding truck that was blocking the doors to our shop. Add in the really cold morning, and I guess that leaves me stranded. So I go to get the keys to the ranch truck. Um, they are not there. Where could they be? The cowboy hates key rings, so they could be anywhere.

So I took a nice half-mile stroll down to the shop to find a battery charger. Half way there I started wishing that I was the kind of girl that remembers to put on gloves. But I was going to make the best of it.

Ah, what a beautiful crisp December morning. A few birds were flirting around the feedlot pens, filling the silent air with a little bit of music. Like magic, frost had turned Cocklebur Junction into a glistening, beautiful world. Ahhhh….

Then I accidently flushed a covy of quail out of the prairie grass. Birds were flying everywhere. I jumped back and stepped in a cattle panel someone had left propped up near a highline pole. I hit the dirt. Looked around to make sure no one saw it. Spanky, Dally’s pony was not too far from me, looking at me like I was an idiot.

And that taught me not to try so hard to enjoy my morning.

So, to win the cookbook, you are all going to make Ree and I enjoy the rest of our day (and maybe tomorrow, too).

Here’s how to enter:

Go to The Pioneer Woman site and figure out what is your favorite thing about Ree Drummond. Be specific. Be original. Have fun — remember, she could have had a bad morning too and needs some loving. Come back here and post what you love about her site in the comments to this post.

That enters you one time to win.

Then go to another post or page on my blog and enter a comment. A nice one. I need the love today.

That can give you an extra entry.

Subscribe to my blog…..another entry.

Tweet or FB or blog or whatever you do about this giveaway….that’s another entry. (But come back here and add a comment that you did that….)

Okay. I think that’s enough. Any questions, leave a comment and I’ll try to answer it in a timely fashion. You can enter up to four times by using the above mentioned entry methods.

The contest will run until Midnight on Friday. I will announce the winner sometime on Saturday. Then I will mail the cookbook on Monday.

Good Luck!!!!

37 Responses to “The Pioneer Woman Cooks, and so can you….”

  1. Julie P December 3, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    The thing I like best about Ree is that she gets to live on a Ranch I am totally jealous and would totally love if my hub was a cowboy! I love working cattle and serving the meal to the cowboys after they have been out working!!

  2. Lea Ann December 3, 2009 at 10:27 am #

    The thing I love about Ree is her sense of humor. It is so fun to read her accounts of goings’ on through ranch life and all her other adventures.

  3. Larissa December 3, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    Ree is so real. She is a down to earth person. Her whole blog is real life. I love the way she LOVES her family. Her and MM and the punks she puts them first. She is so sweet to share her life with us.

  4. Larissa December 3, 2009 at 10:45 am #

    Also added it to my blog.. http://www.stampincraze.blogspot.com

  5. Larissa December 3, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    I tweeted about it and left it on my blog. Thanks..

  6. tracy yandell December 3, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Oh my were to begin about Ree. A young lady with 4 children and she gets all this stuff accomplished. wow. I love how she can make a cookbook, take pics and get everything posted like she does. The pictures are amazing, down to earth dont care if they are all dressed up and posing, they are great. She lets people know what it is like to live on a ranch, to live in osage county, and still be the woman she is. I realize I dont have it as bad as some people, why am I complaining about my day, I see what all she can do and she has inspired me to try harder, dont give up, and if i set my mind to it I can accomplish it.

  7. tracy yandell December 3, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    I put it on my profile to go there and check out your blog and to enter for cookbook from ree

  8. Pamelotta December 3, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    Now I don’t know her personally, but from what I’ve seen and read, she seems to have this maternal spirit about her. She’s welcoming and complimentary to everyone she comes in contact with and makes motherhood look easy. That just makes me want to claim her as a second mom. (even though I’m 38)

  9. Lydia December 3, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    She is hilarious and real. No matter what happens with the cookbook and how big of a star she is, she still seems to stay the same as when she first started her blog.

  10. Dan Larson December 3, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    Hello,

    My favorite part about Ree is that she puts a smile on my girlfriends face everyday at work!!! Also I am usually the benefactor of many delicious recipes:) Wonderful wit too!!

  11. Kelly December 3, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    I love Ree’s love story the best. Her detailed account of life as a twentysomething trying to find the right direction in career and love speaks to where I am in life right now. Ree’s story of finding love and ending up with a life totally unexpected yet completely satisfying is exciting, and reassures that the rest of us single ladies can end up all right, too.

  12. Dan Larson December 3, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Hello,

    PS–I just asked my girlfriend what her favorite part of Ree is, and her ever-loving response was:
    “Her sense of humor and zest for life”

  13. Melissa December 3, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    I think Ree is very pretty and knows how to accessorize!

  14. Melissa December 3, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    Posted on Facebook!

  15. Karen December 3, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    Where to start?!? I love her authenticity, i.e. loving the smell of Charlie’s feet, calf balls, and use of butter! I love how her recipes are doable, even on my stupid days when I REALLY need each step in picture and word! She has reawaken my love of cooking and my husband will be forever grateful!

  16. Karen December 3, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    Just added this comment to both my FB and Twitter (although, my FB security settings prevent non-‘friends’ from viewing. So…please trust it is there!) “Go to http://thesurpriselily.com/
    to have a chance at winning a signed copy of Ree Drummond’s cookbook, like I did!!!”
    Also, I’m now following your blog! Thanks!

  17. Kristin December 3, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    Ree made me start to see my husband as my own personal “Marlboro Man” 🙂 And, we both love our punks!!

  18. Sharon December 3, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    I love about everything about this woman.
    I think I am a true stocker:)
    I love her stories about her ranch life and seeing how it is done in the country.
    I live in the city.
    I would love a signed cookbook. I have downloaded so many of her recipes and we loved every one of them.

  19. Melinda Loyd December 3, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    I love that butter is a food group!
    I love that she is a genuine person and finds ridiculous in the mundane!

  20. Gina December 3, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    Her photo’s are what drew me to her site…then when I saw how she did her recipes (step by step) I was hooked. Love everything about her blog.
    By the way after reading about your day….my day did not seems so bad. So Thanks for that. 🙂 Hope your day got better!

  21. Ree Struble December 3, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    I love her because
    A: We have the same name (My given name is Anna-Marie, but my mom said I was such a live wire toddler, that it was quickly shortened to Ree, and has stayed that way ever since)
    B: I grew up on a farm, drove tractors, butchered our own meat, etc. So I completlely “get” all the farm things she’s talking about.
    C: I also have 4 punks.
    D: I also homeschool those 4 punks
    E: I adore her recipes, and her pictures, I already have a cookbook obsession, and she’s adding to this addiction. Her recipes are amazing, easy, and extremely tasty!

  22. Brenda B December 4, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    She is very inspiring with everything she accomplishes each day. I love the names both you and Ree have given your husbands! I was sitting here trying to think of a good name for mine…. I’m thinking “Cowboy Lineman”??? I am inspired by both of your guys’ ability to write. Your stories are sooo real and I can picture the whole story and it plays out in my head and they usually make me laugh which I need in my life right now!

  23. Errin December 4, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    I love that she is living that perfect farm life. I love reading about her stories and yours. Makes me feel like I’m back at home on our farm 🙂

  24. Errin December 4, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    OH MY GOSH..checked out her trip schedule and she will be HERE in Houston on Saturday!!!!!!!!!! UGGGGGGG….why did I have to schedule my open house on Saturday! Mine starts at 1…wonder if people would miss me for 2 hours while they stood out in the cold 🙂

    Houston
    Saturday, December 5, 2009
    1:00 pm
    BLUE WILLOW BOOKS
    14532 Memorial Drive
    Houston, TX

  25. Julie P December 4, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    I should have all 4 entries I think thanks Lily for letting us have the chance to meet you and Ree

    • lilyteague December 4, 2009 at 11:11 am #

      Oh gosh Julie, I’m thankful to have met you….You have no idea how much I think you rock…And remind me to just be me. Something I think we all need to do.

  26. Melody December 4, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    There is nothing not to love about Ree. She is just like you and me and she shares it with us! Love the picture of the cow poo steaming on the road. We all look at stuff like that but to post it?!?!?!? She did! You wanted to too right?

  27. Margo/MS Hospitality December 4, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    I think Ree is inspiring. She inspires young and old women to be themselves and live life with gusto!

  28. Lisa December 4, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    I love how much she loves MM. I don’t think everyone has a love like theirs.

  29. Shannon December 4, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    I love her because she is the real deal……….not a pretentious bone in her body!! She is talented, a gifted writer and a loving soul. I wish there were more like her in the world……….we might even attain world peace!! Perhaps we can elect her to be our next Secreatary of State!!

  30. Marla K. December 4, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    The thing I like most about Ree and the Pioneerwoman website is that Ree is an extraordinary storyteller. Her passion, humor, and details draw you in to each item whether it is daily life, photography, homeschooling, etc. Combine that talent with her amazing photography and you really do feel like you just sat down with a good friend.

  31. Samantha December 4, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Since she lives on a ranch and has cooked for cowboys I am sure her cookbook will be a great success. I am no Betty Crocker or Ree Drummond and I am in need of some new receipies. I think it would be fun to live on a ranch or farm. What adventures and stories you would have. No wonder she wrties books!!!! We have had horses and mules in the past, but right now we are just raising a baby and 5 dogs. 4 are dachshunds, so I guess we have a weenie dog farm. LOL Good luck to everyone.

  32. Samantha December 4, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    I have just fb about entering the contest. Hope you have a slew of new fans for your blog. Thanks again. 😉

  33. cathy December 4, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

    My favorite thing about Ree is that she lives in Osage County OK!

  34. Pat Patience December 4, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    The thing I like best about Ree’s website is her story about how she met and married the Marboro Man, “Black Heels to Tractor Wheels”. That is how I got to know Ree, what she is all about and how she thinks about things, and all about her family. I feel like I know her (I know, I know, along with everyone else!)

  35. Kay Guest December 4, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    Besides enjoying her wonderful recipes, fantastic photography and reading about her life on the ranch with Marlboro Man and the punks… I love that she makes me laugh!

  36. Coloradolady December 4, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    My favorite thing about Ree…is what drew me to her blog in the first place…she reminds me of my Aunt who was just like her…very girlie and married a Rancher (cattle) She even favors my Aunt and MM favors my uncle in his younger days…..I always thought their life was so romantic, and reading the stories on the Ranch and Ree’s life, makes me always think of them. My Aunt has been gone six years now, and I miss her so much….Ree is a nice reminder of someone I loved very much….. I would love to win this book and send it to a dear friend…she would love it!

Leave a Reply

