It all comes down to the gravy…

29 Nov

My cowboy thinks I’ve lost my mind.

You see, I’m a fan of Ree Drummond, the Pioneer Woman. I think she’s witty and a great photographer. Her pictures can make you forget how bad cowboy life really smells!!!

And I forgive her for never recognizing me even though we’ve been introduced a time or two. I’m one of those forgettable people anyway.

Hi, I’m Lily.

And I love recipes. I have millions. And I also have dozen and dozens of cookbooks. I can’t help it. It’s an addiction.

So I was thrilled…la,la,la…that she wrote a cookbook. Even though, I don’t need any more recipes, I just can’t resist.

I rushed down to the bookstore in Ponca City and bought two copies. Then I made plans to attend the signing on Nov. 28.

The cowboy didn’t get it.

C: Why would you want a cookbook signed?

Me: I just think it’s cool. She was on Bonnie Hunt.

C: Who’s Bonnie Hunt?

Me: I’m going to get the book signed at the bookstore.

C: Um, you do realize that she only lives ten miles from us. You drive by her driveway all the time. And we know most of their hands.

Me: I want the experience of having been to a book signing. I need to get out and do things every once in a while. It gives me a reason to take a shower.

C: What’s the big deal anyway? She’s just a ranch wife. You women….

Me: It’s all about cowboy food…hey,  I’m just a ranch wife too.

C: You can’t call yourself a ranch wife till you can make gravy. Maybe she can teach you to make gravy.

I can make souffles. I can make taffy. I make my cakes from scratch.

I can not make gravy.

I figure, why worry about the lumps if you are putting it over a biscuit. It gets lumpy anyway. Um, obviously the cowboy disagrees. But he eats it so that he has something to complain about.

So, Dally, Bailey and I got up bright an early on Saturday and headed into Ponca. They started handing out numbers at ten and the signing was at one. So we got our ticket (no. 30!) and killed time to avoid driving back home again. Lowes, Hobby Lobby and McDonalds and then it was time.

So we hurried off to the signing. While we waited for it to start, the girls did a little shopping.

Dally doesn’t even watch Thomas, but she loved that train table!!! And we are running out of room….so maybe not.

Not sure, but we’ll call this little doggie “Ole Blue”. Always wanted a blue roan. Dally couldn’t believe her sister would ride a dog, but not a horse!

And finally, after the waiting…..

We got our book signed. Ree had no idea who I was, but knows my husband. That’s the appeal of a good cowboy. You never forget ’em!

And by the way, on Thursday, I’ll be giving away my second signed copy. So come back on Thursday and enter to win a signed copy of Ree’s Pioneer Woman Cookbook. I made the lasagna last night and it was delish. But my gravy is still lumpy.

4 Responses to “It all comes down to the gravy…”

  1. tracy December 2, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    oh my i love coming and reading what you write. wish i had that much time and was creative like you. your girls will always have something to look back on. congrats and keep up the great work. dont worry i cant make gravy either and i was raised a farm girl

  2. Dan Larson December 3, 2009 at 12:26 am #

    Thank you for this opportunity, oh I will be back. I would love to get a copy for my girlfriend for Christmas.

  3. Gina December 3, 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    Does your cowboy know how hard it is to make gravy!?! 😉
    Just found your blog from PW facebook. Enjoying reading it.

  4. Charise Barswell December 28, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    A great idea for future recipes this. Thank you for sharing it. Have you noticed how so many people appear to be cooking again? I wonder if the lack of funds due to the current climate has something to do with it and we all appear to be cooking again! its great!

Leave a Reply

