Welcome to Cocklebur Junction

14 Nov

Curious horse welcomes new baby!

This is my beautiful world. And it is a sweet, sweet world. With two little girls running crazy and more animals than I can keep count of, it is a crazy busy world. The cowboy bought me this beautiful little ranch, stocked it to the brim with animals, then took off on the wide open road looking for adventure.

At least he left a post it note on the tractor letting me know how to start it. And reminding me not to drive it into a pond.

 Believe me, it really could happen.

So life on Cocklebur Junction is definitely always a surprise.

You may be asking yourself: what is a cocklebur and why is there a junction at it? Well, a cocklebur is a viscious little thing.

Ouch!

Um, we don’t walk around barefoot around here.

They absolutely cover this place. To the point that if I slack in the least bit in getting rid of them, the horses look like they have curlers in their hair. (I would put a pic of that, but the cowboy said that would be too humiliating.)

As for the junction part, I’m pretty sure we located exactly where the strongest winds in the world combine. Seriously, we’ve had lots of things blow away — swimming pools, paperwork, bbq grills and no one ever found that trampoline. Prairie women were perfectly sane to go insane. I know I have. And yet, I occasionally still forget to set an 100 lb. anvil on something, and the next morning it is three counties over.

But mostly, Cocklebur Junction fits our lives. It’s always a bit prickly and it seems as if there is always a crossroads in our lives. I don’t make plans past lunch, and frankly, I often can’t remember what we had for breakfast.

So why do we live here? On a ranch in the middle of nowhere Osage County, Oklahoma? With more animals than people?

Sunset in the Osage

Because without the cockleburs and the wind, we wouldn’t recognize the beauty in the view.

Did I mention I live in a barn? Yes, a big red barn. Tomorrow we’ll find out how my cowboy lost his mind and moved me into a barn.

2 Responses to “Welcome to Cocklebur Junction”

  1. tracy yandell November 16, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    oh my this is so good, cant wait to read more. dont know were you find the time to do this. awesome keep up the great work.

  2. Judith November 16, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    Rock on, girl! I am so proud of you and to have known you ‘when!’

Leave a Reply

